Breaking News
Home / Bhubaneswar / Naveen Cabinet from Nine BJD Ministers Resign

Naveen Cabinet from Nine BJD Ministers Resign

Naveen Cabinet  from Nine BJD Ministers Resign

Bhubaneswar,6th May 2017 (By Prasant Kumar Bhuyan)–  Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday expressed hope that the ministry reshuffle will attribute towards the growth and development of people of Odisha besides strengthening the party.Talking to reporters on the sidelines of his meeting with elected members of various panchayatiraj institutions of Kendrapara and Malkangiri, Patnaik today expressed gratitude towards ministers for tendering resignation ahead of the ministry reshuffle.“I am grateful to a number of ministers who have resigned voluntarily to work for the party. All of us in the party are very grateful to them,” said Patnaik. However, many political pundits believe that the massive reorganisation in  BJD today named nine leaders of the party as observers of 11 districts in the state to further strengthen its base at grassroots level. Of the 11 leaders, five hold ministerial berth in the government. While Besides the above responsibilities, the party has given additional responsibility to two of the party leaders. While Sanjay Das Burma has been given additional role of being general secretary of Youth Affairs, Arun Sahu has been made the general secretary of Student Affairs. Putting an end to speculations about a reshuffle in the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik led Cabinet, nine ministers have tendered their resignation here on Saturday, School and Mass Education Minister Debi Prasad Mishra has been the responsibility of Sambalpur district, Higher Education Minister Pradeep Panigrahi of Gajapati, Law and Panchayati Raj Minister Arun Sahu of Mayurbhanj, Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare Minister Sanjay Das Burma has been given twin charge of Nabarangpur and Rayagada, Energy and IT Minister Pranab Prakash Das has also been given the twin responsibility of Koraput and Malkangiri districts.In addition to this, till reports last came in.As per latest information, Food Supplies & Consumer Welfare Minister Sanjay Dasburma, Panchayatiraj & Law Minister Arun Sahoo, Higher Education Minister Pradeep Panigrahi, Housing & Urban Development Minister Pushpendra Singhdeo, Sports Minister Sudam Marndi, Energy Minister Pranab Prakash Das, School and Mass Education Minister Debi Prasad Mishra, MSME minister Jogendra Behera and Tribal Development Minister Lal Bihari Himirika have resigned today. party vice president Surya Narayan Patro has been given the charge of Bolangir,  Prafulla Samal has been assigned the charge of Jagstsinghpur district.Similarly, Wester Odisha Development Council (WODC) Chairman Kishore Mohanty has been assigned Subarnapur and Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak has been appointed for Balasore district.Sources said that as many as 10 ministers will step down from the ministry today.Earlier,  Odisha Assembly Speaker Niranjan Pujari had also resigned from his post. “I want to devote more time for my constituency,” Pujari had said soon after submitting his resignation to deputy speaker Sananda Marandi yesterday.

About surendrahota

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar