Breaking News
Home / Bhubaneswar / Sixth Odisha Living Legend and Youth Inspiration and OdishaInc Awards Conferred

Sixth Odisha Living Legend and Youth Inspiration and OdishaInc Awards Conferred

Sixth Odisha Living Legend and Youth Inspiration and OdishaInc Awards Conferredgroup-awardees-picture

Bhubaneswar 6th December 2016 (By Biswaranjan Mishra)-Key Points:

  1. The Award Function was dedicated to the Immortal Memory of Shri Biju Patnaik
  2. Live Art in memory of The Amma, Ms. J. Jayalalitha
  3. Living Legend Oration focuses on developing Second Generation Leaders
  4. Waves and Vibes discussion series launched by Shri Subroto Bagchi
  5. Annual Citation started to honour excellent work in a given calendar year.

Key Quotes:

  1. Subroto Bagchi: The titles like Maid Servant and Labour Class are unacceptable. Respect is the key to an inclusive society, without which there can be no development.
  2. SK Nanda: Out of box thinking is possible only when we take responsibility. Legends always do that.
  3. Amitav Acharya: I keep Odisha in mind when I write about the Global South. Odisha continues to educate, enlighten and inspire.
  4. Basanta Kumar Kar: Nutritional deficiency impacts economic growth, that’s why nutrition has to be central to public policy.
  5. Barendra Kumar: If you are inspired then only you can inspire. Inspired people become legends.

The Sixth Living Legend and Youth Inspiration Awards, the highly prestigious civilian Awards of the state, were conferred on notable individuals here in the city. The Annual Living Legend and Youth Inspiration Awards selected great and inspiring individuals from different segments of Odisha society and it was dedicated to the celebration of Biju Birth Centenary.The event had three important segments like Living Legend Oration, Waves & Vibes and the Award Ceremony. The Live Art of Biju Patnaik by acclaimed artists Bijaya Biswal was a great attraction for the youth. One minute silence was observed in memory of Ms. Jayalalitha, the renowned political leader and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, who passed away recently. The festival remembered her warm welcome to Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. She had called Biju Patnaik as a father like figure and Naveen Patnaik as a brother.Editor-in-Chief of Odisha Diary and Founder of Odisha Living Legend Awards Shri Rashmi Ranjan Parida welcomed the guests for the living legend oration on the topic of Creating Legends: The Future of Second Generation Leaders. Senior Editor Prof Kamala Kanta Dash introduced the concept of Living Legend Oration. Living Legends like Dr. Sudeep Kumar Nanda, Mr. Basanta Kar and Prof Amitav Acharya shared their inspiring experience and journey in their respective fields. While Dr. Nanda is known as an effective bureaucrat and policy implementer, Mr. Kar has been known as a leading nutritionist of India and Prof Acharya has been an important voice of the global south in the study and practice of international relations and diplomacy. Youth icon Mr. Barendra Kumar reflected on his journey as a writer and quoted from his best seller book Can is the Word of Power.In launching the Waves & Vibes (W&V) series, the Skill Development Mr. Subroto Bagchi shared his experience as an entrepreneur and his journey as one of the leading voices in the Indian industry. Speaking to Senior Editor Ms. Diksha Tiwari, he shared his vision for a Skilled Odisha and thanked the Government of Odisha, Government of India, media and the people of Odisha for the huge success of the Make in Odisha event which was organized last week.The Living Legend and Youth Inspiration Award ceremony was launched by Hon’ble Minister of Finance Shri Pradeep Kumar Amat, Hon’ble MLA of North Bhubaneswar Mr. Priyadarshi Mishra, legendary linguist Padmshri Debi Prasanna Patnaik and legendary film maker Sabyasachi Mohapatra. Editor Mr. Parida welcomed the guests, dignitaries, awardees and media to the award ceremony. Prof Dash provided a brief background of Odisha Diary and Living Legend Awards.Living Legend Awardees of 2016 include Dr. Sruti Mohapatra in Social Service, Prof Trilochan Pradhan in Science, Dr. SK Nanda in Public Policy and NRO, Prof Amitav Acharya in Education, Mr. Basanta Kar in Public Policy, Dr. Hrusikesh Panda and Mr. Ramakanta Jena in Literature, Mr. Daitari Panda and Mr. Prabhudatta Pradhan in Entertainment, Mr. Shiv Sunder Das in Sports and Ms. Jyoti Rout in NRO.Youth Inspiration Awardees of 2016 included Mr. Kedar Mishra in Literature, Mr. Soumendra Padhi in Entertainment, Ms. Alaka Sahani in Journalism, Piyush Rout in Public Policy, Mr. Saswat Joshi in Performing Art, Mr. Birendra Pani in Visual Art, Mr. Masi Hantal in Sports, Mahendra Kumar Nayak in Social Service, Vikram Swain in Entertainment and E Kiran Mohan in New Media. A jury comprising of former awardees was appointed to select the Living Legend and Youth Inspiration Awardees.In the business segment, OdishaInc awards were conferred on Anita Pattnaik in Women Entrepreneurship, Odisha Cement Ltd (OCL) in Green Award, IFFCO and JSPL in CSR categories, NALCO as the best brand, KK Parida in Business Leadership and Mayfair in Best Innovation. OdishaInc awards highlighted inspiring individuals, institutes and initiatives in the business world.  Apart from these awards, this year the award committee has made two exceptional choices to acknowledge excellent work in a year. The youth of the Gailo Ghat accident in Deogarh and the Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) that fought Japanese Encephalitis (JE) in the district of Malkangiri were felicitated. The ceremony was anchored by Diksha Tiwari and Deba Prasad Dash. Vote of thanks was offered by Debaraj Mohanty who expressed gratitude and thanked the guests, awardees, sponsors, partners and audience for their continuing support to Odisha Diary and its initiatives.e-kiran-mohan-odisha-living-legend-awards-1

living-legend-oration-creating-legends magazine-release waves-and-vibes-discussion-with-subroto-bagchi


About surendrahota

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar