Breaking News
Home / Local / Former Editor of Hirakhanda Sriballav Panigrahi Pass away

Former Editor of Hirakhanda Sriballav Panigrahi Pass away

sri ballav panigrahi expBargarh ,9th July 2015 : Senior Jornalist & former Editor of Hirakhanda daliy ( 1st Odia Daily publish from Sambalpur ) also a Veteran Congress leader and former Deogarh MP Sriballav Panigrahi passed away in a private hospital in Bengaluru on 9th July 8.31 AM .He was 74 and is survived by his wife Sunanda Panigrahi and two sons.

Born on September 2, 1940 in a freedom fighter’s family at Bargaon in Sambalpur district, Sriballav was elected as a Member of Odisha Assembly in 1971 and 1974 from Sambalpur Assembly constituency.He was the youngest cabinet minister at the age of 33 during the chief minister ship of Nandini Satpathy. He was also elected as the Member of Parliament from Deogarh Lok Sabha constituency in 1984, 1991 and 1996.Known for his honesty, Panigrahi had played a vital role in the setting up of the Mahanadi Coalfields Ltd (MCL) at Sambalpur. Besides, his efforts in the setting up of.

His younger sister Dr Raseswari Panigrahi is acting as the present MLA of Sambalpur representing Biju Janata Dal .journalist of Bargarh paid tribute to Sri Ballav Panigrahi former editor of Hirakhanda daily .


About  Sri Ballav Panigrahi

Father’s Name    :     Late Shri Narasingh Panigrahi

Date of Birth    :     2 September 1940

Place of Birth   :     Vill. Bargaon in Distt. Sambalpur (Odisha)

Marital Status   :     Married on 4 February 1975

Spouse’s Name    :     Smt. Sunanda Panigrahi

Children   :     Two sons

Educational Qualifications :     B.A., LL.B.

Educated at G.M. College, Sambalpur and M.S. Law College, Cuttack (Orissa)

Profession :      Political and Social Worker, Advocate, Agriculturist, Journalist

and Trade Unionist


Permanent Address :     Vir Surendra Sai Nagar (Bhutapara),

P.O. & Distt. Sambalpur-768001 (Orissa)      Tel. (0663) 31155

Positions Held :

1967-69          President, D.C.C., Sambalpur

1969-71,1973-74 General Secretary, P.C.C., Orissa and 1977-80

1971-77          Member, Orissa Legislative Assembly

1971-72          Member, Estimates Committee, Orissa Legislative Assembly

1972-73          Minister, Education, Cultural Affairs and Parliamentary

Affairs, Orissa

1974-77          Minister, Food and Civil Supplies, Commerce, Irrigation,

Power, Law, Revenue and Education, Orissa

1984                Elected to Lok Sabha (Eighth)

1985-89          Member, Joint Committee on Offices of Profit

1986-87          Chairman, Probe Committee of the Energy

1987-89          Member, Hindi Salahakar Committee

Member, Consultative Committees, Ministry of Environment

and Forests, Ministry of Coal and Ministry of Energy

1988-89          Member, Rules Committee

1991                  Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth)

1991-92          Member, Estimates Committee

1992-93          Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Securities Scam

1992-96          Vice President, P.C.C., Orissa

1993-95          Chairman, Standing Committee on Petroleum & Chemicals

1993-96          Member, General Purposes Committee

1996                 Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the third time

Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments :

Contributes articles to newspapers and journals; Editor of Hirakhanda daily (First Odia daily of Sambalpur)

published by Prajatantra Prachar Samitee, Odisha

Social and Cultural Activities :

Associated with   several educational, social and cultural

organisations; President, Sir Aurobindo Mandir Sabha, Sambalpur

Special Interests :

Establishment and management of educational and spiritual

organisations; cultural heritage and yoga movement

Favourite Pastime and Recreation :

Reading, travelling, gardening, sightseeing and writing articles

Sports and Clubs :      Member, Sambalpur Club

Countries Visited :

China, Denmark, France, Italy, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland,

West Germany, U.K. and U.S.S.R.

Other Information :

Chairman, I.N.T.U.C. Parliamentary Forum; Member (i) Senate and

Syndicate, Sambalpur University, 1971-74; (ii) National Waste

and Development Board; (iii) Parliamentary Farmers’ Forum; and

(iv) C.P.A. and I.P.G.

Election Result :

Deogarh Lok Sabha constituency

Total electorate 10,81,508

Total votes polled    5,80,176

Votes polled in favour of the

first four leading candidates :

(1) Shri Sriballava Panigrahi    (I.N.C.)   2,20,648

(2) Shri Debendra Pradhan   (B.J.P.)   1,73,266

(3) Shri Rabinarayan Pani   (J.D.)           1,52,647

(4) Shri Pascal Barla       (J.M.M.)      5,677

About surendrahota

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar